An Obituary

I’m saddened by the bad news I received today. I learned that the person whose classes I had attended five days a week for three months, was passed away. He was friendly, and helpful, and gets along well with his all students. He was one of the hardest-working, most energetic, and most brilliant people I have ever met. I can still visualize his hard effort and humility to set the course program in the style that the students want during my time at the course. If it were anyone else, he wouldn’t be trying to please so many people with these different desires. He used to say that you have to follow this schedule every class hour, but he didn’t follow that…

I am happy to have known him. Every morning, many nonfiction research books were in piles, and his laptop was always on the table. I have never seen him sit idly by. He always had something to do, such as replying to his colleagues and checking his students’ homework and emails…

Of course, before the lesson began, it never escaped my notice that he would open his Kant studies and spend his spare time with them. His love of teaching, his effort to learn anything in detail, and his never forgetting the details he learned always surprised me. I wish every teacher aroused a love and interest in the lecture (similar to him), but unfortunately it is not like that.

I often didn’t get on well with authorities and superiors, but Stefano Papa certainly wasn’t like that. He was able to make people laugh and entertain even in the most difficult and boring subjects of the lessons, attracting attention to the lesson. He was a humorous person who was open to every idea and spoke without sparing his own ideas. Being seen by him as a brave student is very valuable to me.

The day I learned that I was going to take lessons from the philosopher, I was very excited.

Everything was as I expected, the lessons were very fruitful and enjoyable. It was as, if I was attending cultural workshops rather than foreign language classes. I was also exploring Vienna from where I was sitting. He used to teach regardless of the curriculum and also gave us internet resources and extra resources just as help to us.

I learned a lot from him in a short time, but I was only able to teach him about Zülfü Livaneli. It was also one of my funny moments when he made jokes about the feminist, Marxist, communist Ayşegül from time to time based on my homework.

Learning from you is very valuable for me. It is not always possible to take lessons from a fun and intellectual teacher. There is so much to write about the our memoirs at the lectures, but at the moment they are seeming to me meaningless.

I listened to Kurt Cobain’s song “The Man Who Sold The World” for months and he knew it. Now I dedicate this song from here. Who knows, maybe he will hear, maybe he will see, maybe he will smile.
Thanks for everything.

Still I hear „kein Englisch“ voices in my head.

Vielen Dank and Arrivederci


Yorum bırakın